Netflix unveiled one of its most anticipated shows, A Series of Unfortunate Events, on Friday, January 13 (hah, get it?). If you haven’t yet binged Season 1, I implore you: do it now.

Why, you ask?

  1. The casting is fantastic. Not only is it relatively diverse, but the character I was the most worried about (Neil Patrick Harris as Count Olaf) does an incredible job. And needless to say, the kids to a wonderful job bringing Violet, Klaus, and Sunny to life.
  2. The pacing is good. Season 1 has a total of eight episodes, two each for books 1-4. This gives the story time to unfold, which is usually one of my biggest critiques when it comes to movie adaptations of books.
  3. The tone is just right. Sombre colors and gloomy settings make up most of the season, which is exactly what one would expect. The cinematography, sets, and music kind of reminded me of a Wes Anderson film, which I love, so that was a plus for me.

Does it deviate from the books? Yes, but if my memory serves me, only a little. Have you seen it? Do you want to?

