It’s almost been a week in the new year and I’m itching to get started on a new reading challenge (I’ll need all the time I can get). The most difficult part in actually picking a challenge is that I have several goals I want to accomplish and I don’t want to leave any out.

First, I noticed from my reading list last year that the books I chose lacked a very specific voice: that of people of color (POC). I promised myself that in the future I would be more mindful of who I read.

Second, which sort of goes hand-in-hand with the first, most of the authors I read came from the U.S. or the U.K. This also needs to change.

And lastly, I suffer from tsundoku, which is the Japanese word for “new books that pile up on my shelf” (who do I need to talk to in order to get that word into the English language??), meaning I need some incentive to read the books I own quicker than I normally would.

That being said, POPSUGAR’s 2017 reading challenge list allows me to meet those three goals. It’s the same source as my 2016 reading challenge, which I really enjoyed because of its flexibility. I do feel a little guilty falling back on something I’ve already done instead of trying something new, but if it ain’t broke, why fix it??

Have you figured out what you’re reading this year?

