A month ago I was bored out of my mind waiting for school to start. When friends said I should take advantage of the lull between work and school to explore my new home I would answer with a laugh, roll my eyes, and say, “I know, it’s great, but I just want to start school already!”

Well, grad school is finally on a roll and is taking its toll on me. Not in a “why-did-I-ever-think-I-could-do-this-??” kind of a way, more like a “wow-there’s-a-lot-of-stuff-they-want-to-cram-in-ten-short-weeks-!!” kind of way. Seriously dude, quarter systems are no joke.

So you can say it. I know you want to. No really, go ahead, you earned it. You told me so.

But before you feel the need to stage an intervention, I’m happy to report that I’ve been keeping up with my fun reading. As one of my favorite heroines says, “My courage always rises with every attempt to intimidate me.” So despite the studying, assignment deadlines, and looming midterms (I have two next week—wish me luck!), I try to carve out at least 15-20 minutes a day to read something I don’t have to write a policy memo on.

My Econ professor sure gets it:

screen-shot-2016-10-28-at-09-55-00

With nine weeks left in this year’s challenge, I have nine more books to cross off on my list. Not bad I think, not bad at all.

What have you guys been reading?

