…eagerly awaited, filled with happiness and opportunities for growth, and with a few surprises (of the good kind).

I am absolutely in love with subscription boxes. They are like mini Christmas celebrations every month (or two months or however often), and I find the simple ritual of waiting for my box and then tearing it apart both exciting and cathartic.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on various book subscription services, so I was ecstatic to see that Book Riot had a 50% off coupon for Book of the Month’s 3-month membership plan. Even though I’m in the process of cleaning out my shelves, I had to try it out, you know, for science…

bookriot

Membership includes one hardcover book of my choice from each month’s selection of five books. If I want I can add up to two more books from the current month’s selection or from past months for $9.99 each. If I don’t like any of the books I can opt to skip that month and my membership is extended one more month. The price came out to about $23 including shipping instead of the usual $45 (or in other words, about $7.50 per book instead of $15).

I wasn’t too familiar with any of April’s candidates, but I heard an interview on NPR with the author for The Nest (Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeny) so I chose that as this month’s selection.

bookriot

The book will ship in a couple of days, and my membership lasts until the end of June after which it automatically renews unless I call Book of the Month to cancel (which I might do since I’ll be in the process of moving), so I’ll have more updates for you.

Have any of you experimented with or are devoted fans of a book subscription service? I’d love to hear what your experiences have been!

