Brief synopsis: As a child Jacob was fascinated by the stories his grandfather Abe told him about growing up on a remote island off the coast of Wales. Orphaned during World War II, Abe was taken in by a foster family where he made some unusual friends—a girl who could levitate, a small boy who could lift large boulders, and an invisible child to name a few. As Jacob grew older he saw the stories for what they were: a coping mechanism his grandfather used to forget about the horrors he witnessed during the war. But when Jacob starts to see strange things in his neighborhood, he begins to wonder what if

Rating✈  Travel companion

Long story short: Overall I enjoyed this book, but I’m probably not going to read the sequel. It started off well, I liked the premise and the pace (it’s another story that gets off the ground pretty quickly, which is something I like); but there wasn’t enough depth to the characters or the action, which deflated my enthusiasm for the rest of the series.

The things I enjoyed:

  • Ransom Riggs does this cool thing where he juxtaposes real photographs he and others have collected with the narrative, which totally enhances the creepy factor of the novel (big brownie points there)
  • The descriptions were so vivid that I felt like I was actually there, something I don’t get from a lot of books

The things I didn’t enjoy:

  • The first half of the book was about a mystery that Jacob was trying to solve. Instead of working out the clues on his own, things just happened to work out for him. Sometimes he figured out what the clue meant after he stumbled on it, other times he was just in the right place at the right time. As a reader who likes to figure out things alongside the protagonist, I didn’t get to do a lot of deducing, which ruined the mystery part for me.
  • In the beginning Miss Peregrine’s had a great creepy vibe going. However, towards the end it turned into one of those Scooby Doo chase scenes that left me disappointed.

It was entertaining, but unless somebody hands me the sequel, I don’t see myself reading it. Have you read the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series? What did you think?

