Brief synopsis: If you thought your day was going badly, at least you’re not Arthur Dent: first his house gets paved to make room for a highway, then minutes later the Earth is destroyed to make way for an intergalactic bypass, then he learns that his closest friend is actually an alien and the book he’s carrying with large letters screaming “DON’T PANIC” isn’t helping the situation. And…I really don’t want to say anymore; I think the less you know about the series, the better you’ll enjoy it.

Rating✈  Travel companion

Long story short: Sometimes when you don’t get around to a book/movie/TV show quick enough, the hype is too strong and expectations become unrealistic. Thankfully that was not the case here. After being told I had to read The Hitchhiker’s Guide or else I wasn’t a real fan of sci-fi/fantasy, and after not reading it because I was too far down that shame spiral, I bit the figurative bullet and added the book to my reading challenge.

If you’re easily annoyed by ridiculous plots, this is probably not the book for you. The entire story is absurd and requires the reader to suspend her disbelief through to the end. If you’re a fan of the nonsensical, you’ll find the story is equal parts brilliant and crazy (maybe it’s brilliant because it’s so crazy?). Anyway, I had lots of questions, none of which were answered, so I had to push myself to keep reading. Kind of annoying and frustrating at times, but I guess it’s all part of the story.

No spoiler review for this book. If you haven’t read it, why not? If you have read it, what did you think? Comment below!

